

ROTARY CLUB OF BROWN COUNTY – THE BEGINNING

From tiny acorns mighty oaks grow. The seed for the beginning of the Rotary Club of Brown County grew from the fertile mind and yearning of a restaurant entrepreneur and business man, Delano (Del) Newkirk.

Del began selling his business holdings in 1991. That same year, he and his wife, Letty, moved to Brown County and began building a new home high in the Hills O' Brown where they "could be one with nature and enjoy the sunrises and sunsets."

Del had long envied the fellowship, community leadership and service of Rotarians but had never stayed in one place long enough to participate in Rotary. He set about to change that even though there was no Rotary club in Brown County.

With the help of people such as Past District Governor Orphie Bridges, District Governor Owen Hungerford and Brown County retiree Prof. Dick Hulet, a past president of the Normal (Illinois) Rotary Club, Del began recruiting for the county's first Rotary club.

By the fall of 1992, he and others had recruited 25 outstanding men and women, had drafted by-laws in accordance with Rotary International and District guidance, and presented themselves for chartering.

The new club was officially chartered November 2, 1992, and celebrated at a Charter Night gala Thursday, November 19, 1992, attended by more than IOO people including Rotary dignitaries from Rotary International and Rotary District 6580. Many of the District's clubs sent representatives bearing Rotary paraphernalia as gifts to help the fledgling club begin. Entertainment for the evening was provided by friends of Del -- Past Rotary District Governor John Egan and his wife Anne Marie, professors of music from St. Joseph College.

It was the first Rotary club in Southern Indiana to be named after a county. The first meetings were in Nashville's Artists Colony Inn, and the club has held its regular weekly breakfast meetings at that location every Thursday ever since.

District Governor Hungerford installed the club's first officers: Del as president; Dick Hulet, vice president; Bill Percifield, secretary; Kathryn Richardson, treasurer; Michael Chamblee, sergeantat-arms, and Stewart Turner-Ball, chaplain.

Directors were Jim Crane (community service), Yvonne Oliger (international service), Donna Stouder (vocational service) and Pamela Taylor (club service).

Del is the only club president to serve three terms, including the partial Rotary year following chartering. He is thought of as "the father of Brown County Rotary," a description well-earned with his active role in leading by example and practicing the Rotary motto, "Service Above Self."



ROTARY CLUB OF BROWN COUNTY -- HISTORY HIGHLIGHTS

Charter Members (Charter Night – Thursday, November 19, 1992)

Robert W. Barger Jay Carter Michael A. Chamblee William S. Cook James R. Crane Scott DeDomenic Robert C. Hale Brian Heller Richard E. Hulet Steven E. Kritzer Del Newkirk Yvonne C. Oliger Robert R. Ormiston William L. Percifield Burton R. Perdue Jamie L. Pirtle Kathryn M. Richardson Martin K. Saari Patricia D. Setser Donna Stouder Kathy J. Strahm Pamela J. Taylor Stewart Turner-Ball Douglas E. Van Winkle George A. Warner

Club Presidents

Del Newkirk	1992-1994	Pryde Bayliss	2008-2009
Jim Crane	1994-1995	Bert Clemons	2009-2010
Kathryn Richardson	1995-1996	Sue Ann Werling	2010-2011
Scott DeDomenic	1996-1997	Richard Lawlor	2011-2012
Greg Marshall	1997-1998	Rod Russell	2012-2013
Jim Allen	1998-1999	Richard Rhyant	2013-2014
Dick Routh	1999-2000	Brandy Brandon	2014-2015
Michelle Cohen	2000-2001	Larry Hanson	2015-2017
Dick Knobloch	2001-2002	Al Kosinski/Jim Allen	2017-2018
Del Newkirk	2002-2003	Dwight Thompson	2018-2019
Bob Kirlin	2003-2004	Beverly Teach	2019-2020
Diane Cantrell	2004-2005	Robert Willsey	2020-2021
Al Kosinski	2005-2006	Tim Kelley/Mike Laros	2021-2022
Yvonne Oliger	2006-2007	Jim Tichenor	2022-2023
Jaydene Laros	2007-2008	Mike Heil	2023-2024



Club Secretaries

William L. Percifield	1992-1995	Teed Howard	2009-2011
Judy Brown	1995-1997	Dennis Kubal	2011-2012
Charlene Kowaliuk	1997-1999	Pryde Bayliss	2012-2013
Aldea Cloutier-Hartung	1999-2000	Larry Hanson	2013-2015
Cynthia Thompson	2000-2003	Jaydene Laros	2015-2016
Jaydene Laros	2003-2005	Beverly Teach	2016-2019
Suzannah Zody	2005-2007	Jim Tichenor	2019-2020
Jane Gore	2007-2009	Beverly Teach	2020-2024

Rotarian of Year

Jim Simms	1994	Sue Ann Werling	2009
Greg Marshall	1995	Teed Howard/Ken Harker	2005
0		·	
Randy Snyder	1996	Wanda Jones	2011
Jim Allen	1997	Jane Gore	2012
Kathy Strahm	1998	Mike & Jaydene Laros	2013
Bob Ormison	1999	Al Kosinski	2014
Bill Percifield	2000	Larry Hanson/Jaydene Laros	2015
Diane Cantrell	2001	Dick Routh	2016
John Kipp	2002	Mike Laros	2017
Jim Reichert	2003	Beverly Teach	2018
Howard Hughes	2004	Jaydene Laros	2019
Jaydene Laros	2005	Dwight Thompson	2020
Dick Routh	2006	Kim Robinson	2021
Cindy Rose Wampler	2007	Brandy Brandon	2022
Teed Howard	2008	Wanda Jones	2023

Rotary District 6580 Officers

Yvonne Oliger, Assistant District Governor	2014-2016	
Yvonne Oliger, District Secretary	2007-2010	
Dick Routh, Assistant District Governor	2000-2004	
Greg Marshall		
 District Governor's Advisory Council 	1999-2000	
Chair, Long-Term Youth Exchange Com	2000-2001	
Bill Percifield, District Treasurer	1994-1997	
Bill Percifield, District Treasurer	1994-1997	



Rotary District 6580 Awards

District Citation Award	2019-2020
Best Small Club	2018-2019
Best Small Club	2016-2017
Best Club Secretary (Teed Howard)	2010-2011
Best Small Club	2010-2011
Best Club Secretary (Jane Gore)	2008-2009
Most Outstanding Club	1999-2000
Best Club Secretary (Bill Percifield)	1993-1994
Numerous Best Club Spirit Awards	

Rotary International Awards - Numerous Presidential Citations